Monday, October 6, 2014

a taste of the good stuff

Friday night we introduced Truett to his first bit of solid food. Yes, this is how we spend our Friday nights now. Wild and crazy, I tell ya!

After recommendation from our pediatrician (ask me how many times it took to correctly spell that word...) we chose to skip rice cereal and started with a healthy fruit mixed with some breast milk. Apparently, rice cereal is hard for babes to digest and can be tough on their tummies. So our doc said we could skip that and just give him some mashed up food around 5 months or wait til 6 and give him chunks.

Speaking of 'apparently', I can't get this song out of my head...

I digress.

Back to True...

He's been so curious every time we eat food and was making some seriously funny chewing faces, so we decided to go ahead and see what he would do with some mashed up avocado.

...


"Oh this looks like fun..."


"Mom, give me that, I got this."


"Wait. What is THAT?! Hmmm.. I dunno bout this, mom."

Well, let's just say he didn't love it... but he didn't hate it either! 

It was hilarious watching him eat the avocado and try to figure out what to do with it. I'm pretty sure he got more on himself, the table, and the floor than he did in his mouth. But hey, it was a successful first attempt I would say!

I mashed up the avocado with a little bit of breast milk and have been giving that to him the last few nights. I think we will keep with the avocado for a few more days and then see about trying a new food. 

Mamas -- what was your babe's first food? Any favorites or recommendations for this age? 

Oh and can I also just say that while this is a really exciting new thing, it also makes me incredibly sad that my little man is growing up so dang fast. bring on the waterworks...

xo

1 comment:

  1. No worries! I cried while feeding Lils her first foods too! We, too, skipped the rice cereal. Something about it just didn't seem natural. ha! I think we started with peas? Ugh. See one of those tidbits you'll think you'll remember forever.... Anyway, no recommendations, glad to hear you'll do the three day wait. Oh! I remember Lily's taste buds changed a ton, so even if he doesn't like something now doesn't mean he won't like it later. :)

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for your comment! I try my best to reply to all comments and do so by email -- unless you don't leave one for me. So please leave your email and if you're a fellow blogger, leave that too so I can check you out! xo